Visual Anthropology

This is just a really quick post but I couldn’t help writing something down!
I’m about to start the Spring semester in another 2 weeks and I’m pretty excited to be taking a course called Visual Anthropology. It’s my second semester in Hunter’s graduate Anthropology program and I’m looking forward to continuing the great time I’ve had thus far.

My professor for the class sent out the syllabus this week. As I did a quick preview of what’s in store for me, I’m glad to say it’s not as intimidating as I thought it would be. For one, all the classes are centered on watching documentary films and reporting on styles and cinematic elements, something I’m quite excited to learn about. Second, the class doesn’t seem to be “a book and several articles due a week” type of class. To which, at least this time around, I’m grateful. I’m also excited that one of the final projects is to write-up a proposal as if I am going to do a film for my future Masters thesis. I’m not quite sure how this will turn out but it’s got my mind immersed  with a variety of ideas…i.e.–Evolution of Women in Death Metal??? A topic that’s been on my mind for a thesis for quite some time now.

2 thoughts on “Visual Anthropology

  1. The huge bibliography on Metal Studies should help you with Evolution of Women in Death Metal. I’ll send it to you this month. The new expanded edition goes online in late June. / Brian Hickam

    • Thanks Brian. I’ve been a fan of your work and recently joined the Heavy Fundametalisms email list-serv. Your recent paper with Jeremy Wallach on Female Authority and Dominion has been inspriing! I’ve also been keeping track of Sonia Vasan’s work on Women’s participation in the Death Metal scene. I’m glad to see Metal Studies gain a presence.

Leave a Reply

