Metal Away in 2014 \m/

So another year ends and another begins. I was happy to see Mayor elect de Blasio get sworn in but even better (at least for me), was to find out that his daughter, Chiara de Blasio is a metal-head. Apparently, it’s been all over the metal forums. See the last paragraph in this New York Magazine article: http://nymag.com/daily/intelligencer/2013/12/de-blasio-wont-offer-details-on-chiaras-issues.html

Why does this make me happy? Well, recently I’ve been reading Laina Dawes book entitled, “What Are You Doing Here?: A Black Woman’s Life and Liberation in Heavy Metal“, which is a great read by the way, and one of which I’ll be reviewing later on this blog. Ms. Dawes gives her account of growing up as a female metal-head in Canada and her subsequent journey to adulthood as not only a woman but a black woman in the extreme metal scene.

laina dawes

It reveals a voice for the marginalized. And to me, that’s what my aim is in regards to my working thesis. It goes without saying that so far this year has been all about metal music for me. I’ve started  listening and re-listening to albums that I’ve had on the shelf for some time and I’m in the midst of reading several books and thesis:

Running with the Devil: Power, Gender, and Madness in Heavy Metal Music by Robert Walser
Heavy Metal: The Music and it’s Culture, by Deena Weinstein
Metal Rules the Globe, by Jeremy Wallach
Lost Lambs: Rock, Gender, Authenticity, and a Generational Response to Modernity in the People’s Republic of China, by Cynthia Wong

And the music I’ve been listening to is:

Fear of God
Crisis
Galmet (Japanese Death Metal) an all female band
The Agonist
Cerebral Bore

Leave a Reply

