Nouvelle Vague with a sprinkling of something heavier…

NouvelleVague_1I remember a couple of years ago first being introduced to the musical genre of bossa nova from a fellow musician/librarian of whom I worked with. I never thought that I would find a band, let alone songs that appealed to me. Lo and behold Nouvelle Vague comes along and changes my perception. Granted, they are French cover band and probably appeal to me because the majority of their covers are of 80’s songs that I love, without shame. Hell, their name translates to “New Wave” for goodness sake. I couldn’t help fall in love with their sound which is the complete opposite of the death and sludge metal I’ve been listening to lately. They undoubtedly have a “Frenchness” to them that if visualized, would probably be like a Jean-Pierre Jeunet movie, complete with animated pig and gnome figurines.

Obviously with covers of bands like Joy Division, Echo and the Bunnymen, The Smiths, Depeche Mode, The Clash, etc, I don’t think you can go wrong. Unless of course you think that the covers are blasphemy, but I didn’t feel that way.

NouvelleVague_3

 

One song cover really sticks out to me and I supposed it’s because it’s one of the few songs that I like to mix in between long bouts of death metal tracks. The song is called, “In a Manner of Speaking”.  The original version was done by Depeche Mode, written by Martin Gore–a guy who I think doesn’t get all the recognition he deserves, but that’s another post. I’d be curious how this song would sound like if it had a sludge metal sound applied to it. Maybe something to put on my list.

And below is the Nouvelle Vague version, which although sounds much lighter, seems to carry the same undertone of unrequited love for me, albeit a poetic lilting version.

I usually juxtapose this song with a Gallhammer one, called “On the Onset of the Age of Despair” (see the depressing theme here?)

Another song I like to put into my bossa nova – metal mixes, is the “Cosmic Sea” by my all time fav band, Death.

Anyway, hope you enjoy my soundtrack and insight of the morning.  \m/

 

 

Leave a Reply

