“If we don’t own the narrative of our own bodies, somebody else will use it against us.” -Kiran Ghandi

Just read this post by marathon runner Kiran Ghandi, who some of you might have heard of on the news because she dared to run a London marathon during her period, without, (gasp), a pad or tampon!

kiran1

While I wouldn’t personally do this–I think it takes great balls (pun intended) to brave this out and make it a statement — which is women shouldn’t be ashamed of their bodies. I know my own reasons stand to be looked at critically regarding why I wouldn’t do this, which is also why I can say being socialized a certain way disservices both men and women in our society. Acts like Kiran’s make me re-examine what I think about body hair, bodily fluids and perception. This self-reflecting my friends, is a good thing.

There was a great point made about how people wouldn’t look twice if someone ran with a nosebleed and blood all over their shirts. Yet somehow women’s bodies fall under a specific category of policing – it’s both fascinating and disturbing. We need to ask why.

On another note, to tie in with my love of all things music– Kiran’s also the drummer for several bands, including – M.I.A, Thievery Corporation, Madame Gandhi. Being a female drummer in itself is another avenue in which women can break stereotypes. I love it! If you ask me, it’s very metal and it’s very feminist.

Kiran2

All in all, I’m glad she brought attention to an issue all women go through with regard to body image.

As I’ve been living under a rock, you’ll be sure I’ll be reading more about Kiran Ghandi.

Finally in her words, “If we don’t own the narrative of our own bodies, somebody else will use it against us.”

Leave a Reply

